Writers Artists Night

Writers Artists Night, 7PM, Friday, June 21, 2019, Vintage Paris Coffee Shop

Hollister, MO (March 1, 2018) — Online publication StateoftheOzarks.net will again host an annual “Writers Artists Night” competition at Vintage Paris Coffee Shop in downtown Hollister at 7PM, Friday, June 21. The magazine hosts this event in conjunction with Vintage Paris.

“Vintage Paris is the artistic gathering spot,” says StateoftheOzarks publisher Dale Grubaugh. “Matt and Jessica Farmer have a vision for giving back to our community. It has always been a great fit for our event.”

Editor-in-chief Joshua Heston is calling for local writers and artists to participate. “The goal is to give our community a voice. We’ve been doing this event for a number of years and I’m really pleased with its evolution.”

The event’s concept is simple. Local writers submit works to StateoftheOzarks through the month of March. In April, writers’ works are distributed to participating artists. Artists are asked to create original work “inspired in some way by the written word.”

“The collaborative aspects of the process are the most important,” shares Heston. “We get some really exciting works. Artists and writers get to work together. Get to meet one another. Get to inspire each other. There is so much hidden talent in our Ozark communities and this is a way of celebrating that.”

Gift-bag prizes will be awarded to top writer, top artist, and best of presentation by an independent panel of judges assembled by StateoftheOzarks. Many additional contestants will also vie for publication in the StateoftheOzarks.net magazine over the coming year.

“It’s part spoken-word night, part pop-up art gallery. We always get a good crowd. I’m just humbled to have a platform that gives everyday Ozarkers of all ages a voice,” says Heston.

Participation Details

The magazine is accepting written entries March 1 through April 1. Writers submit work through form below. For questions, email josh@stateoftheozarks.net.

Word limit guidelines: 750 words for presentation portion (submitted manuscripts may be longer). Written entries may be of any genre but may not have been published in other publications. Cost per entry $15.

Artists who would like to participate: email Josh@stateoftheozarks.net to be placed on the submission list.

Writers’ works will be paired with artists after April 1. Artists may use any medium to express themselves. Art must be completed and dropped off at Vintage Paris by June 14 for presentation on June 21. Cost per entry $15.

Branson Tri-Lakes News Article by Tim Church:

Writers’ Submission Form:

I understand that (required)

I understand that (required)

I understand that (required)

I understand that (required)